Student Organizations

Student Success and Strategic Community Engagement

Under the leadership of Associate Dean Anona Smith Williams, Ed.D., the Student Success and Strategic Community Engagement (SSSCE) team is composed of student-centered professionals, dedicated to the holistic wellness and success of the students within the NC State College of Education. In addition, the SSSCE team supports the land-grant mission of the institution through its commitment to serving the citizens of North Carolina through dynamic community outreach initiatives. As a collective, SSSCE’s priority is to provide a safe, supportive, resourceful, and collaborative space for the partners with which they work.

Mission Statement

The NC State College of Education Office of Student Success and Strategic Community Engagement is committed to providing learning and student development opportunities that foster integrity, collaboration and reflective practices that promote self-awareness and social justice.

Our efforts promote a culture of learning that challenges and supports students to become educators and leaders that think and do the extraordinary.

The student success team places a high value on student achievement, quality academic advising and meaningful involvement.

Meet Our Team

Anona Smith Williams

Associate Dean for Student Success and Strategic Community Engagement


Amanda Beller

Interim Director of Advising


Crystal Espey

Teaching Fellows Director at NC State


Melvin (Jai) Jackson

Director of Graduate Student Success


Amber McGregor

Early College High School Liaison

Robin McWilliams

Director of SAY Village


Whitney Richardson White

Program Manager for Strategic Outreach and Special Initiatives


Mike Steadman

Admissions and Recruitment Coordinator


Tiffany Wiggins

Director of Undergraduate Student Success