Master of Arts in Teaching: FAQ
What is the deadline for me to submit my application?
- Summer admission: March 1
- Fall admission: July 15
- Spring admission: November 1
Are the classes online or face-to-face?
The Master of Arts in Teaching program at North Carolina State University is 100% online with some content areas offering an off-campus option for some courses.
All of our advising takes place by appointment. Please e-mail the appropriate MAT adviser.
What does the MAT program cost?
Cost will vary based on your plan of study. The MAT classes will have distance education tuition.
Students typically enroll in 9-10 hours per semester. Classes are paid on a per-semester basis. This does not include additional content courses, if they are needed. Visit the NC State’s Graduate Distance Education Tuition rates page for detailed information about tuition and fees.
MAT participants can undertake this program full-time or part-time. All content areas are approximately 30 credit hours, including a full-semester student teaching experience.
Approximate total program cost (North Carolina residents) for the Master of Arts in Teaching program: $13,850 ($1,385.64 per course)
What are the requirements for admission?
- A bachelor’s degree from a college or university that holds regional accreditation from a recognized accrediting agency such as SACS
- 3.00 GPA or higher in prior work, as required by the Graduate School. An undergraduate degree in the content/discipline or, in the absence of a content degree, 24 semester hours/credits in content relevant to the area in which you wish to teach
- A combined Verbal and Quantitative score of 300 on GRE administration. GRE scores should be no older than 5 years prior to the date of admission.
- Meet the specific requirements of content area or grade level.
What if I do not have the 24 content area credits needed to be accepted into the program?
If an applicant does not have the 24 content area credits needed to be accepted into the program, he or she can still enroll in the first graduate classes as a Non-Degree student (NDS) while completing the full 24 content-specific hours and transfer those credits into the degree program. Up to 12 credit hours with a grade of “B” or better can be transferred into a master’s degree program (either from NDS studies or from partner institutions). See the NC State Graduate School policies at https://www.ncsu.edu/grad/catalog/transfer-credits.html
Are there special requirements for applicants with non-U.S. Degrees?
A minimum passing score of 100 on the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) AND an official course-by-course evaluation from an accredited foreign credential evaluation service are required.
Please note that the Master of Arts in Teaching is a distance education program, so students on university-sponsored visas are not eligible for this program. Please contact the Office of International Services with any questions.