Skip to main content

Education Council Celebrates Achievements of Undergraduate Students During NC State College of Education’s Spotlight Awards Ceremony

The NC State College of Education celebrated undergraduate students for their dedication to the field of education and honored four awardees during its Education Council Spotlight Awards Ceremony on April 20.

During the ceremony, students were recognized for their contributions to community service, school spirit, teaching and leadership, and this year, the Community Service Award was renamed to honor Associate Dean for Student Success Anona Smith Williams. Teaching Professor Valerie Faulkner, delivered the keynote address.

This year’s award winners are listed below:

Dr. Anona Smith Williams Community Service Award

Cristal Esthela Gonzalez-Valdez
Mathematics Education

Spirit Award

Sophie Satowiak
Elementary Education

Rising Leader Award

Jahzar Fields
Middle Grades Language Arts and Social Studies Education

Golden Apple Future Teacher Award

Shannon Carney
Mathematics Education