Skip to main content

Associate Professor Temple Walkowiak Named 2020-2021 University Faculty Scholar. 

Wolf statue and the Park Alumni Center.

NC State College of Education Associate Professor Temple Walkowiak, Ph.D., has been named a 2020-2021 University Faculty Scholar.

Temple WalkowiakThe University Faculty Scholars program recognizes outstanding early- and mid-career faculty members for their significant academic achievements and contributions to NC State and the greater community. University Faculty Scholars carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State.

Walkowiak is an associate professor of mathematics education in the Department of Teacher Education and Learning Sciences. Her research focuses on the measurement of mathematics instructional quality in elementary classrooms and the impact of teacher preparation on teachers’ knowledge, beliefs, and practice. She’s the PI of the NSF-funded Project Project ATOMS: Accomplished Elementary Teachers of Mathematics and Science, and co-PI of the NSF-funded Project ASK-TM: Assessing the Structure of Knowledge for Teaching Mathematics.

As par of the elementary education program area of study, she also has provided invaluable leadership and mentoring for junior faculty in the College of Education, including her recent term as chair of the college faculty.

Before joining our college in 2010, Walkowiak worked as a teacher of mathematics in Virginia public schools for about nine years. She earned her Ph.D. in mathematics education from the University of Virginia and her master’s in middle grades education and bachelor’s in mathematics from James Madison University.

The College of Education now has 14 faculty who have been named University Faculty Scholars since the program began in 2012. In addition to Walkowiak, the others are Anna Egalite and DeLeon Gray (2019-2020); Joy Gaston Gayles and Margareta Thomson (2018-19); Soonye Park (2017-18); Margaret Blanchard and Audrey Jaeger (2016-17); Karen Hollebrands (2015-16); Eric Wiebe (2014-15); Hollylynne Lee and Alyssa Rockenbach (2013-14); and Jessica DeCuir-Gunby and Bonnie Fusarelli (2012-13).