Skip to main content

Education Council Honors 16 Students with Spotlight Awards

Golden Apple Future Teacher Award winner Lauren Slenker
Lauren Slenker, right, shared the 2017 Golden Apple Future Teacher award with Education Council President Melissa Goto (not pictured). (Photo by Logan LaBo)

The NC State College of Education recognized 16 students with awards for their leadership, achievements, and dedication to the field of education during its 6th Annual Spotlight Awards ceremony Wednesday, April 5.

“One of the most wonderful parts of being dean is acknowledging the work of others, especially of students who engage, care, and go above and beyond what people expect,” said Mary Ann Danowitz, the dean of the College of Education. “The lives of the children you are going to reach will be enriched because of the things you’ve already done. You truly represent the best of NC State.”

The Education Council, the umbrella organization for all student organizations within the College of Education, presented the awards.

Outstanding Student Organization or Program Members

  • Chase Lane, junior in elementary education | Ambassadors
  • Kristian Marlowe, senior in mathematics education | Education Council
  • Audrey Moore, junior in elementary education, and Lilly Smithdeal, junior in elementary education | Elementary Education Organization (ELMO)
  • Jayda Smith, senior in middle grades/Language Arts and Social Studies concentration| MYEN (Multicultural Young Educators Network)
  • Tatyana Glasgow, senior in mathematics education | North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCCTM)
  • Elizabeth Coleman, junior in science education | National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
  • Rebecca Pridgen, junior in elementary education | Passport to Success
  • Amber Black, sophomore in elementary education | SAY Village (Students Advocating for Youth)
  • Anna Schlesinger, sophomore in elementary education | Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE)
  • Gabriella Ferguson, senior in technology, engineering, and design education | Technology and Engineering Education Collegiate Association (TEECA)

College of Education Spirit Award

  • Sara Bowen, junior in elementary education

Community Service Award

  • Briana Green, senior in business and marketing education

Rising Leader Award

  • Anna-Claire Bousquet, senior in science education

Golden Apple Future Teacher Award

  • Melissa Goto, senior in elementary education
  • Lauren Slenker, senior in middle grades/Language Arts and social studies concentration