Skip to main content

Global Engagement Inducts New Academy Members Including Three College of Education Faculty Members

Hiller Spires, Patricia Marshall and Ruie Pritchard

The Office of Global Engagement inducted 47 members into the Academy of Excellence in Global Engagement, a recognition that honors the achievements of faculty and staff who have made outstanding contributions to international research, education, and service at NC State.

Eligible faculty and staff include recipients of a Fulbright Award, Jackson Rigney International Service Award, Outstanding Global Engagement Award, and the Leadership in International Education Award.

New members joined together for a celebratory dinner at James B. Hunt Jr. Library on Tuesday evening during which Craig Yencho, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Horticulture Science, gave a talk on the grand global challenges affecting research and teaching in the future.

The Academy will host a university-wide banquet and symposium in November each year to provide networking opportunities and to induct new members into the Academy. Members of the Academy will have the opportunity to contribute to developing global research project and program priorities by serving as expert consultants within the Global Engagement Institute.

By encouraging the next generation of globally-engaged leaders at NC State, Academy members will elevate the status of NC State’s global mission.

Congratulations to the new Academy inductees:

  • Prema Arasu
  • Trino Ascencio-Ibáñez
  • Gary Blank
  • Rick Brandenburg
  • Maria Brown
  • Jennifer Capps
  • Francis de los Reyes
  • Joel Ducoste
  • Burak Erdim
  • Shu-Cherng Fang
  • Mike Giancola
  • Beth Glueck
  • Nora Haenn
  • Linda Hanley-Bowdoin
  • Helmut Hergeth
  • Heidi Hobbs
  • Kostadin Ivanov
  • Yuka Kato
  • Akram Khater
  • James Kiwanuka-Tondo
  • Jennifer Kuzma
  • Marvin Malecha
  • Patricia L. Marshall
  • Roger Narayan
  • Maria Oliver-Hoyo
  • Edgar Oviedo
  • Art Padilla
  • Robert Patterson
  • Ruie Pritchard
  • Patrick Rand
  • Douglas Reeves
  • Nicholas Robins
  • Ingrid Schmidt
  • Rudolf Seracino
  • Erin Sills
  • Sofus Simonsen
  • Hiller Spires
  • Richard Spontak
  • Sid Thakur
  • Shweta Trivedi
  • Beverly Tyler
  • Tomislav Vukina
  • Ira Weiss
  • Tom White
  • Quiyun (Jenny) Xiang
  • Craig Yencho
  • Mohammed Zikry

This story originally appeared on the Office of Global Engagement site.