Skip to main content

faculty awards

Bonnie Fusarelli with NC State Chancellor Randy Woodson

Feb 23, 2023

Professor Bonnie Fusarelli Receives UNC System’s 2022 Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award

Bonnie Fusarelli, NC State professor of educational leadership and of educational evaluation and policy analysis, has received the 2022 Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service. The award honors faculty who exemplify the University of North Carolina System’s commitment to service and community engagement. 

Hollylynne Lee in front of Poe Hall

Jan 27, 2022

NC State College of Education Distinguished Professor Hollylynne S. Lee Receives Cherry Award for Great Teaching

Hollylynne S. Lee, Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Statistics Education at NC State's College of Education, has been named the 2022 recipient of Baylor University’s Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching. The biennial award, which comes with a $250,000 prize, honors professors with exceptional teaching skills who have a record of having a positive, inspiring and long-lasting impact on students. 

Aug 24, 2021

Cherry Award Lecture with Hollylynne Lee, Ph.D.

DeLeon Gray, Ph.D., an associate professor of educational psychology at the NC State College of Education

Jun 13, 2019

Award-Winning Article Focuses on What It Means for Black Students to Belong at School

How can schools become places where black students feel as though they truly belong? DeLeon Gray, Ph.D., an associate professor of educational psychology at the NC State College of Education, co-authored an article published in Educational Psychologist that the APA recently honored with a Best Article Award. 

A photo of Dr. Jessica Hunt with co-authors at NCTM

Apr 9, 2019

Associate Professor Jessica Hunt Receives National Outstanding Publication Award from NCTM

Jessica Hunt, associate professor of mathematics education and special education at the NC State College of Education, received the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) Linking Research and Practice Outstanding Publication Award at the council’s annual conference held April 3-6, 2019. 

A statue of a howling wolf

Apr 8, 2019

Professor Sylvia Nassar Wins National Professional Service Award from American Counseling Association

Dr. Sylvia Nassar, professor of counselor education at the NC State College of Education, has received the 2019 Arthur A. Hitchcock Distinguished Professional Service Award from the American Counseling Association (ACA).… 

New wolf statue on central campus.

Mar 1, 2019

Audrey Jaeger Receives NC State’s 2019 Equity for Women Award

Dr. Audrey Jaeger, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor at the NC State College of Education, has been named a recipient of the 2019 Equity for Women Award. This award recognizes faculty, staff and students for outstanding leadership in establishing equity for women at NC State. 

New wolf statue on central campus.

Feb 28, 2019

Joy Gaston Gayles, Margareta Thomson Named University Faculty Scholars

NC State College of Education faculty members Dr. Joy Gaston Gayles and Dr. Margareta Thomson have been named 2018-19 University Faculty Scholars. This program recognizes outstanding faculty members for their significant academic achievements and contributions to NC State. 

New wolf statue on central campus.

Dec 4, 2018

Associate Professor James Bartlett Receives ACTER’s Meritorious Service Award

The Meritorious Service Award from the Association for Career and Technical Education Research recognizes individuals who have made unique contributions to research in career and technical education during the previous three years. 

Oct 25, 2018

Associate Professor Margareta Thomson Begins Fulbright Research in Romania

Associate Professor Margareta Thomson marked the beginning of her U.S. Core Fulbright year by presenting her research project “Fostering Academic Motivation and a STEM Growth Mindset in High-Poverty Schools through Authentic Research Experiences” with education faculty, K-12 teachers and nonformal educators throughout Romania.