Skip to main content

Wake STEM Early College High School Named Best Secondary Magnet School in the US

A photo of Wake STEM Early College High School students working together

Magnet Schools of America (MSA) has named the Wake STEM Early College High School — a joint program between NC State and Wake County Public School System — the best secondary magnet school in the nation. The same organization named the school a Magnet School of Excellence earlier this year.

“The Best Secondary Magnet School award is a major accomplishment for Wake STEM Early College,” said Amber McGregor, university liaison for Wake STEM Early College High School. “This award is a true testament to the successful partnership between Wake STEM and the NC State College of Education. Our students gain an education that can’t be received anywhere else due to this collaboration. We hope to continue to offer the best educational opportunities to our students and the students that will follow.”

MSA cited Wake STEM Early College High School’s academic excellence, diversity, family and community partnerships, high quality instructional systems, innovative curriculum and professional development opportunities among the reasons for this national award. The team interviewed teachers, parents and community partners during a recent visit to the school.

“National merit awards are presented annually and are only given to the most prominent magnet schools in the country,” said Todd Mann, MSA’s executive director. “These extraordinary schools have been through a rigorous review process. . . . Merit awardees embody the best in public education and should be celebrated as such in their community.”

Wake County’s Reedy Creek Magnet Middle School was also recognized by MSA this year with the New and Emerging Magnet School Award.

An awards celebration will be held Friday, April 26, at 7:30 a.m. in NC State’s Witherspoon Campus Cinema to commemorate the achievement. Email Amber McGregor at if you plan to attend.


Note: This piece is adapted from a release originally published by Wake County Public School System.